Are We Every Really “Good” At Something?

I think people can be “good” at something, but the fact remains that there is always someone better. Whether you are the number 1 tennis player in the world or the most award-winning actor/actress, eventually someone will come along to break whatever record you hold.

My whole life I’ve never been the best at something. Sure, I was number one on my high school tennis team. The team was made up of 10 girls, who, for the most part, just picked it up the day we started practice. I’m good at a lot of things, but I’m not the best at anything.

I’ve been painting since I was 15, I thought I was pretty good. Of course, I have gotten better over the years. Then I came to college and met one of my friends’ hometown friend. She was a design major and her paintings were amazing. I immediately felt that my paintings were not good enough to be seen. They were obviously done by someone who didn’t know what they were doing.

Why should I even try to do anything when I won’t be the best at it?

That’s the mindset I’ve always had. If I’m not immediately good at something, why should I even attempt it? The college girl had been painting since she was 4 versus me, who had been painting since I was 15 and solely as a hobby.

Why should I expect myself to be amazing at something when I have never tried it before?

The better question is: Why do I expect myself to be amazing at something when I have never tried it before?

Anything that I have stuck with, I have gotten better at it. Improving little by little.

When did this need to be the best manifest itself in me?

I was never a competitive child. I didn’t get angry when I didn’t get first, but for some reason there is this nagging feeling that if I’m not better than the next person why should I continue to do it or even attempt it?
There is always someone better than you, but no one can do the things you can do.

Only you can paint like you.

Only you can play sports like you.

Only you can play an instrument like you.

Only you can write like you.

Only you can be you.

Sure, maybe we can’t all be good at something that other people are good at, but you can be good at being you and doing the stuff that brings enjoyment to your life.
Stop comparing yourself to other people, it will only bring you down. Learn to compare yourself to the past you to see how much you have improved.

Leave a Reply

