Painter’s Block

It’s been about a month since I started a painting for Rowan’s birthday. A Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time painting. If you’ve read my other posts then you’ll know that his birthday was the 8th of this month. I’m writing this on the 19th and it still isn’t finished. All I have left is Link and his horse, but for some reason I can’t seem to bring myself to pull the painting out to finish it.

I don’t know if it’s because it already passed the day I was supposed to give it to him so I feel bad.

Maybe it’s because I feel like I’ll ruin it.

With all the hours spent in that painting, it sits, undone, in my closet just waiting for me to pull it out.

I wonder why this happens. Why, when I’m so close to finishing something, do I tuck it away for a later time or never to finish it at all?

Is it because I’m worried that they won’t like it?

Is it because I don’t want to ruin it?

One day I’ll know why, but today is not that day.

Maybe I’ll finish it tomorrow.

 

Leave a Reply

