Daily Prompt: Disastrous

dis·as·trous: /dəˈzastrəs/ ~ causing great damage 
Now, everyone has their own definition of what is disastrous. To some, it’s not getting the promotion that they really wanted, for others, it’s not having enough food for the rest of the week.
Each one comes with its own set of problems.
Each can happen to anyone.
The thing is, what you do with the situation you were given, no matter how disastrous you think it is, that’s what is important.
Trust me, I’m not the most optimistic person. Frankly, I don’t understand how Rowan can be all of the time. I honestly envy him for that. He seems so care free, so ready to take whatever life throws his way. I, on the other hand, am the complete opposite. I will readily freak out when something goes wrong. I like to think I don’t, but just because most people can’t see it doesn’t mean the freak out isn’t there.
Rowan chooses to see the situation he is given and realizes it could have been worse.
He could be homeless.
He could be unable to afford his bills.
He could go hungry.
There’s millions of people who have it worse so why should he get upset?
So when life does decide to throw a curve-ball his way, knocking him off of his routine, he gets back up and brushes himself off; ready to deal with the situation instead of getting stressed and upset about it.
I hope he can teach me how he does this because it seems like a good way to live.

Disastrous

Leave a Reply

