Important Events Happen In Other Places?

I read an interesting thing today. In the book RISE, which is a collection of short stories by Mira Grant, a sentence caught my attention.

“Not everything important happens in Europe or North America, mate. There’s an awful lot of world that most people never seem to bother with”

~Mira Grant, RISE: The Complete Newsflesh Collection

I grew up in a small town of no more than 4,000 people in the middle of the Midwest. I don’t know what types of stereotypes people have of the Midwest, but one thing is true and that is the fact that no one really cares about events happening outside of the town, state, or country. Most people don’t care about what is going on in other countries unless it directly effects them. This is a problem. It shows the self-centered ideology that has become a common thing in American society. What can other people do for me? Instead of, what can I do to help other people?

Now, I understand not every person is like this who grew up here. I know I’m not anymore. There was definitely a period where I needed to lose my small mindedness and join the world of the open. I needed to realize how much more there was, instead of my small town and the people in it.

Let me give you an example. How many of you have heard about the militants in the city of Marawi in the Philippines? Prisoners were broken out of prison, IS flags flew in the streets, power was lost to many and more. Probably not many have heard of this, unless you are used to going in search of news articles to read. This wasn’t all over social media, it wasn’t everywhere you looked. It was something that you had to look for or if you already read the news than it was seen. Honestly, how many people still get their news from CNN or BBC? Most of the people I know turn to social media as their resource for news. We know how poor of a choice that can be with all of the fake news.

Now, I bet you heard about the bombing at the Ariana Grande concert in London. I am in no way trying to diminish the devastation that was felt after that attack. It was a tragedy. Many young people, who would have gone on to do great things and were too young, were killed. Plus another 50 injured. This was a terrible tragedy that I wish would never have happened. It wasn’t right.

The point I am trying to get across is, how many people have died in this city in the Philippines, but I have heard barely any news about it? Why do major networks choose not to heavily cover these types of stories? Why isn’t it plastered over social media? This was just as much of a tragedy as the latter.

Both events were terrible tragedies and I am not comparing them nor diminishing their impact on the world. I just want to open your eyes to the possibility that there is more to the world than the small part that you inhabit.

 

Leave a Reply

